Skip to content
January 16, 2013 / Ronald Chapman

Not Knowingness

After the lapse that followed, Pitcairn resumed. “Tony, there are a few things I’d like to talk about. But first, I would like to be able to visit with you regularly. I like you, and all you represent. The guy I’m using as an AA sponsor nailed it when he said I’d be using you as an advisor. He thought it was pretty ironic. I do too. But I can learn and grow a lot with your guidance.”

“I’m honored by the request. Believe me, it’s a mutual feeling, and I’d be pleased to talk regularly,” replied the priest.

“It means a lot to me. Especially because I’ve been hearing more of the voice, the quiet one, and I really don’t know what to make of it. While I was traveling to Minneapolis, which is another story to tell, the voice spoke to me and my girlfriend at the same time.”

“Really! That’s remarkable. And what did it say to you?”

“It whispered the word ‘Preciosa,’ which was a childhood name a trusted neighbor gave to Maria Elena. The woman must have loved her a great deal.”

“Have you come to a conclusion about why the word was spoken to you?”

“No idea, Father. No idea whatsoever. It could have been speaking to us mutually. Or it could be some kind of a joining together. I just don’t know.”

The priest touched his hand and spoke gently. “Then stay in not knowingness. Leave it be. Let it remain mysterious. There is a philosopher, Ken Wilber, who says that we make a tragic mistake when we try to take the Divine and Its expression, and render It into a human perspective. He calls it flatland. And we kill the mystery and the wonder, to say nothing of turning the inexpressible and infinite into a material expression. Simply relish the voice as long as it lasts.”

Leave a Reply

