Skip to content
January 2, 2013 / Ronald Chapman

On the Path

He turned to Maria Elena and observed, “A lot has changed in a very short time, Emmy.”

She fawned over him. “Isn’t it wonderful? ‘Beautimas,’ Auntie Susan used to say. She loved to invent Spanish sounding words. I haven’t thought of her in such a long time. And I can’t get over ‘Preciosa.’ It’s all too weird.” She smiled at him again. “Beautimas!”

A long sigh slipped from him. “I’m glad you think so. Mostly, I’m just worn out. And I have no idea what to expect tomorrow on the television broadcast.”

“It will be fine, Cito. Don’t you remember Clint saying, ‘Fine is the only possibility?’”

“Yeah, but it never seems to look fine, does it?”

“Of course not, silly! The point is not how it looks, or even how it feels. It’s how it eventually adds up.”

“When did you become so wise?”

“I’ve always been wise. You’ve only recently become smart enough to notice it in me.” Her eyes twinkled mischievously. “Welcome to sagedom!”

“Sagedom?”

“Si, mi amor. Wisdom becomes you.”

“Why do you suppose you and everyone else seem to be now accusing me of traits I can’t see in myself?”

She rose up in her seat primly. “Because you are called.”

“Called? That is a very troubling notion for an agnostic.”

“But Father de Franco said that all you had to do was cooperate, didn’t he?”

“Those are not exactly his words.”

“No, but Cito, that’s exactly what is happening. You’re on a path you are willing to follow, and it is amazing to watch.”

He just stared at her.

Leave a Reply

