Skip to content
July 26, 2012 / Ronald Chapman

The Crux of the Plot

In speaking with other people about Daniel Davidson, a phrase has arisen along with disgust and condemnation. “It’s okay to kill a killer.”

Over and over again I find myself wondering about the underpinnings of our Christian culture? Is it just a convenient saying to forgive our enemies?

In the weeks since Davidson’s death, I have been looking for answers. In my dreams I have been offered a vision of innocence and these words, “It is insufficient to understand all, and thus to forgive all. If we were to truly understand, we would know there is nothing to forgive.”

I’m aware how daunting this idea is. Just like you, it pushes me far beyond my understanding. But I know in my heart it is true. And for the first time I understand the words of Jesus, “Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.”

Leave a Reply

