Skip to content
July 22, 2012 / Ronald Chapman

How Do I Seek to Control?

“…Researchers have determined that the conscious mind is like a monkey perched on the shoulders of the tiger of the unconscious that is hurtling through the jungle of reality at breakneck speed. The monkey creates an unending series of stories to explain things in a desperate attempt to feel in control.”

The last excerpt contained the item above. If I am really honest with myself, it is truer than I can imagine, which is good since the idea is in fact at the leading edge of current psychological research.

If that’s the case, the only question (or questions) worth asking are to learn the ways I seek to control. Where do I interject myself into the lives of others? What fears cause me to try to control? When does the need to control get in the way of my life and relationships?

Experience tells me the answers will not be comfortable. Still, if I am to grow I must be willing to look.

Leave a Reply

