Skip to content
April 28, 2012 / Ronald Chapman

Committed to the Truth

A reader of A Killer’s Grace was really struck by Emmy, the protagonist’s girl friend. The reader asked, “Is Emmy actually the heroine behind the hero?”
As the author, I must admit I was struck profoundly by Emmy’s ability to rise to levels that occasions in the plot demanded. In the end, I think I admire her more than her guy, Kevin Pitcairn.
Emmy is raw truth lived openly. She doesn’t hold back anything. But she is most impressive in her ability to keep coming back to her own inner direction. Kevin calls her capricious. I see in her the embodiment of one of Mahatma Gandhi’s great lines, “I am committed to truth not consistency.”  That’s the Emmy I see.
Leave a Reply

